Adora Svitak video reflection (class assignment)

In Digital Communications, we recently watched a TED video about 12-year-old Adora Svitak. She talked about the topic of childishness, and how it is not an age-specific word. One of the first things she brought up is that adults refer to younger people as childish, and yet the adults are the ones who are most childish. She brings up that adults cause most of the worlds problems, including World War II. I didn’t see how this was considered “childish” in the sense of the word. Starting a war is not childish, unless you’re Brazil and France, and the war is over lobster. Complaining is childish.

She also brought up that adults staunch creativity in younger people. Though this may be true, she also says that younger people can have great ideas. One example I can think of that this is untrue is this. This is definitely not a great idea, though it may be creative.

Though there may be famous people I find inspiring, I don’t know anyone personally who is inspiring. That’s probably sad, but it’s the truth. Not very many people can become an inspiration in my life. The only one I can think of is my cousin in Texas. Just two years ago, she was being abused by her mother who was addicted to cocaine, and she was called crazy and thrust into a mental hospital against her whim. She’s been through a lot and is still going strong.

I don’t think that adults who heard her presentation will give children more of a chance to share their ideas. That’s just how the world works. It may not be fair, but the world isn’t fair at all. That needs to be learned by children. If they were to learn that, then maybe we wouldn’t have problems like what Svitak talked about.

Svitak’s presentation skills, however, are far from childish. She had better presentation skills than the past two presidents, which I guess isn’t saying much. But, in all seriousness, she had very mature presentation skills. She wasn’t afraid of eye contact and she didn’t look at her notes too often. Overall, she had very commendable presentation skills.

In my own presentation, I think I did fairly well. Aside from a few minor mistakes on my part, like pausing and leaning, I did pretty well for a presentation. I don’t do presentations often, so I think it was good.

One thought on “Adora Svitak video reflection (class assignment)

  1. nymdante says:

    This was such a great video!

    Like

Leave a Reply

